the one with the 25 things update

 

“Okay, here it goes. I’m not 22. I’m 25… and thirteen months” – Monica Geller
“Huh!” – Young Ethan
“But I figured, you know, that shouldn’t change anything. I mean, what the hell does it matter how old we are?!” – Monica Geller

I turned 25 exactly a month ago, so I figured it would be a good time to revisit my bucket list to see how I did… (Spoiler Alert: Not great.)

  1. Read 100 books in one year
    Done! Completed this in 2016.
  2. Run a Half Marathon
    Sigh.. not yet. I was set to do this in Spring of 2016 but then I actually got a lung infection that took me out of the aerobic game for a while. And now I am recovering from shoulder surgery in June, so maybe next year.
  3. Pursue my dream of film (school)
    I can happily say that I am in a new job where I actually get to work with video on a daily basis and I have an opportunity to pursue my film dreams and maybe even school…
  4. Plan a vacation with my best friends
    This probably would have happened already if we didn’t all live in different parts of the country and work jobs with crazy conflicting schedules…
  5. Try something I’ve never done before
    Well this was kind of an arbitrary goal… so i’m just going to say I didn’t complete it.
  6. Visit the Eiffel Tower
    Done! IMG_5053.JPG
  7. Try a food I’ve refused to try all my life
    I didn’t say no to a single food item in France. So yes, I definitely ate some things I would have refused to try before.
  8. Get my credit score up
    ehhh kind of. It’s a work-in-progress. But i’m working on it. Promise.
  9. Learn how to cook at least one impressive meal
    I’m going to say I completed this because I have done Hello Fresh, Blue Apron, and Home Chef. Cheating you say? I don’t care.
  10. Take a Roadtrip
    Yes! It helped that I moved to Phoenix and was forced into it, but I saw the Four Corners AND Grand Canyon! unnamed
  11. Do Charity Work
    I am a terrible person.
  12. Go to Vegas
    Not yet. But since I now live in Phoenix, this is more realistic!
  13. Learn how to say no… and not feel guilty about it
    I learned this before leaving my last job, because my happiness became more important than making others happy.
  14. Develop a substantial savings account/emergency fund
    Ha. I’m broke.
  15. Write a Book 
    Why did I make this a goal?
  16. Take an art class
    Does Wine & Canvas count? I’m saying yes.
  17. Attend a music festival
    Done! Lollapalooza 2016 🙂unnamed-1.jpg
  18. Throw/Attend a fancy dress up party
    I don’t have classy friends.
  19. Watch the AFI top 100 movie list
    I just suck.
  20. Create something I can sell
    Really, I’m just lazy.
  21. Run a 7 min mile…consistently
    See above to lung infection/shoulder surgery. I am not fit.
  22. Attend a film festival
    Sigh, not yet.
  23. See the Northern Lights
    Why did I think I would do this before I turned 25?
  24. Visit the Hollywood Sign
    I didn’t climb up to it, but I went to Hollywood AND got to go to a taping of Jimmy Kimmel. It was just wonderful.
  25. Be open to love
    I was open, it didn’t work out. Here’s to second chances.

11/25 completed. So, I would say this was a massive fail. Here’s to maybe completing these by the time I’m 30?

Leave a comment